Country Info

Australia is a land of contrasts: sweeping golden beaches, coral reefs rich with marine life, tropical rainforests, mountain ranges, vast grazing lands and sparse deserts.

Australia is both the world's smallest continent and its largest island, with a population of 21 million people. It is the sixth largest country in the world. Australia is a stable, culturally diverse and democratic society with a skilled workforce and a strong competitive economy. Australians are generally warm, hospitable and easygoing.

The Australian federation consists of six States and two Territories (Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Western Australia and Victoria). The largest State, Western Australia, is about the same size as Western Europe.

Education System

Australia is one of the most sought after destinations among students wanting to study abroad. A majority of the students are seeking admission to IT, management, hospitality, engineering and environment courses.

Australia offers a regulated and high-quality framework of qualifications and training. Its education standards rank amongst the highest in the world - the result of the close control that the Government applies to institutions at all levels.

The Australian education system is divided broadly into five areas:

  • Preschool 
  • Primary School
  • Secondary / High School / Secondary Colleges
  • Career and Vocational Training
  • University or other tertiary institutions
Each state government manages the school system within their state. Both public schools and private schools exist in each state. The curriculum taught in each state or school may vary but the learning areas are the same in all.
  • Australian Capital Territory Department of Education and Training
  • New South Wales Department of Education and Training
  • Department of Education and Training
  • Education Queensland
  • South Australia Department of Education and Children's Services
  • Tasmania Department of Education
  • Victoria Department of Education and Training
  • Western Australia Department of Education and Training

Each state has a Vocational Education and Training (VET) or Technical and Further Education (TAFE) system. VET prepares people for work in a career that does not need a university degree.

Source : Australian Government, Department of Immigration and Citizenship,
Source : Study in Australia,