Education system in the UK

The education system in the UK is divided into four main parts: primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children in the UK have to legally attend primary and secondary education which runs from about 5 years old until the student is 16 years old.

The education system in the UK is also split into "key stages" which break down as follows:
1. Key Stage 1 - 5 to 7 years old
2. Key Stage 2 - 7 to 11 years old
3. Key Stage 3 - 11 to 14 years old
4. Key Stage 4 - 14 to 16 years old

Generally key stages 1 and 2 will be undertaken at primary school and at 11 years old a student will move onto secondary school and finish key stages 3 and 4.

Students are assessed at the end of each stage. The most important assessment occurs at age 16 when students pursue their GCSE's or General Certificate of Secondary Education. Once students complete their GCSE's they have the choice to go onto further education, or to finish school and go into the working world.
The table below describes the most common patterns for schooling in the state sector in UK and the placement equivalent in the Thai Education System.